Royal Flora Holland ledenraad groep 2021
The Nomination Committee has nominated six candidates for appointment as Members' Council members as of 1 January 2022: Piet van Baalen, Thijs Hermans, Bas van Keulen, Jelle van der Kroft, Marcel van der Lugt and Jan van Paridon. The Members' Council elections will take place from 1 to 8 December. All members of Royal FloraHolland can then vote online.

How does the inflow and outflow of the Members' Council work?

On 1 January 2019, the Members' Council started with 42 members. Members are appointed for a period of four years. After that, they can be reappointed for another four years. To prevent the entire Members’ Council from suddenly consisting of all new faces, a Retirement Schedule has been adopted. In this way, the inflow and outflow will be evenly distributed over the coming years.

According to this schedule, a number of members are now nominated for re-appointment. They are eligible for re-election for a further four years. A number of members will retire from the Council of Members in accordance with the Retirement Schedule. The names will be announced at short notice. The basic principle remains that the Council of Members consists of 35 to 45 members and is a realistic reflection of the membership base. Members of the Members’ Council can of course choose to retire early. The members for re-appointment and retirement will be announced later in time.

What does this mean for the Members' Council in 2022?

After a careful selection, the Nominating Committee has chosen six new members. They are nominated for appointment as members of the Members’ Council as of 1 January 2022. The candidates are:

  • Piet van Baalen, Dune and Flowerbulb Region
  • Thijs Hermans, Westland region
  • Bas van Keulen, North Holland region
  • Jelle van der Kroft, Dune and Flowerbulb Region
  • Marcel van der Lugt, Westland region
  • Jan van Paridon, Dune and Flowerbulb Region
The sequel in a row
From 1 December to 8 December, members can vote remotely (online). Physical voting is unfortunately not possible this year.

The Members’ Council forms the link between members, the management and the Supervisory Board of Royal FloraHolland. The goal: to increase member involvement so that we can respond better as a whole to changes in the market, the cooperative and the company.

Candidates are appointed if a majority of the votes cast is in favour. During the Cooperative Day on 9 December 2021, the new Members' Council members will be officially announced. Next year, there will be another opportunity for members to stand for election to the Members' Council.

Would you like to know more?

Related news